African Continental Qualifications Framework - 7th peer learning webinar

This is the 7th and final peer learning Webinar of the capacity development programme, organised in 2020 by the ACQF - development project. The experiences of two African NQFs will be discussed: South African NQF (in implementation for over two decades) and Sierra Leone NQF (in development and consultation). We will learn about Europass Digital Credentials. Finally participants will engage in a debate.

The ACQF is a policy initiative of the African Union supported by the EU.

The peer learning programme is focused on core themes of qualifications frameworks and systems, and contributes to boost engagement of African Union member states and stakeholders and to develop knowledge and a common understanding of key concepts, objectives, and operational instruments of national and regional qualifications frameworks.

Experiences shared at the previous webinars show similarities and differences in scope, conceptual-technical design, governance, implementation mechanisms and impact of NQFs.

In July 2020 we learned from the experiences of 4 national qualifications frameworks (Kenya, Slovenia, Mozambique and Ireland) and 2 overarching reference frameworks (European Qualifications Framework and ASEAN Qualifications Reference Framework).

During the 3rd meeting, on 10 September, we became well acquainted with the qualifications frameworks of Mauritius, France and Portugal, and underscored their common interest for parity of esteem of all types of learning to access qualifications, for recognition of prior learning (validation of non-formal and informal learning), and for transparency of qualifications.

On the 4th Webinar we enjoyed the brilliant presentations on the national qualifications frameworks of Lesotho and Bahrain. The Arab Qualifications Framework illustrated how regional cooperation can benefit from a regional referencing qualifications framework, and the issues that require constant follow-up.

Lastly, during the 5th Webinar we analysed the developments and perspectives of four African National Qualifications Frameworks: Angola, Egypt, Ghana and Zimbabwe. Countries discussed as well how they are adapting to the "new normal" during and beyond Covid-19.

At the 6th Webinar we heard about the evolution of NQFs of two countries with significant experience (Zambia and Cabo Verde), and engaged with two regional qualifications frameworks in Africa (Southern African Development Community and East African Community).


Contact: Eduarda Castel-Branco,

More information

Session 1 & 6 - Developing the African Continental Qualifications Framework 2019-2022
Session 2 - Over two decades of the South African NQF
Session 3 - Sierra Leone Marching towards NQF
Session 4 - Europass Digital Credentials Infrastructure (EDCI)
Session 5 - Panel: synthesis and way forward
ACQF Peer Learning Webinars Report