Site Search Advanced Search

Unlocking new networks across the Mediterranean

Year/Date: 21/08/2017


Youth in European Training Foundation (ETF) partner countries in the South Mediterranean region will link up with youth across Europe, virtually, through an exciting new online learning programme.

The European Commission has launched a call for tender for the virtual exchanges project, which will run through Erasmus+, the EU’s flagship programme for education, training, youth and sports.

Beginning in 2018, the initiative, called EVE, will link young people aged 18 to 30, with youth organisations, learners, vocational training and adult education platforms, academics and more, through innovative online learning activities.

The online hub will centralise all information related to the EVE initiative in one place. And in doing so, further strengthen people-to-people contacts and intercultural dialogue between Erasmus+ Programme countries in Europe and EU neighbours in the south: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine*, Syria** and Tunisia.

Claire Morel, from the European Commission’s Directorate General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, says the project is an exciting opportunity for young people in the ETF’s partner countries.

‘Erasmus+ provides opportunities for millions of Europeans to study, train, gain experience, and volunteer abroad. But the programme also extends beyond Europe.’

‘Many of the ETF’s partner countries neighbouring Europe can take part in some Erasmus+ activities, notably in higher education but also informal education and voluntary activities – and this is a great example!’

‘Evidence shows that experience abroad not only offers valuable opportunities to enhance knowledge and skills: it also enhances tolerance and mutual acceptance.

‘The problem is that many young people cannot, for many different reasons, take part in physical mobility. The ultimate aim of the EVE initiative is therefore to expand the reach and scope of the Erasmus+ programme via virtual exchanges.’

More information about the tender is available here.

Erasmus+ Programme countries include: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

* This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual position of the Member States on this issue.

* *EU cooperation with Syria is currently suspended due to the political situation; however, since in principle Syria is eligible for cooperation under the ENI, activities.

Forgot your username or password?