Site Search Advanced Search

Modernising VET Quality Assurance

Thematic Area: ; VET quality assurance
Year/Date: 02/03/2016

VET QA workshop at ETF

“It’s your VET system, and your quality assurance system. But that doesn’t mean we can’t learn from each other.”

This was the message from Elizabeth Watters, ETF senior specialist in VET policies and systems, at our seminar on Modernising VET Quality Assurance – The European Approach.

The workshop was an opportunity to share knowledge and experiences of quality assurance (QA) in VET; and explore opportunities for countries to cooperate as they look to improve their QA systems.

Modernising VET is crucial to ensuring its relevance to today’s marketplace – and demands new ways of thinking about how to safeguard VET quality. International cooperation can be a powerful tool in this regard, as it encourages people to innovate, exchange best practice on QA, and work together to tackle common quality issues.

Sharing experiences

The ETF fosters collaboration between partner countries, and supports them in using European policies, expertise, instruments and resources to strengthen VET QA.

Delegates demonstrated this spirit of shared learning at our event. Participants presented the advantages and challenges facing their own QA systems, and joined forces to identify some of the pressing questions facing VET quality.

A flexible framework

The seminar also highlighted the benefits of EQAVET, the European VET QA framework.

Koen Bois d'Enghien of the European Commission gave an overview of EQAVET. Keith Brumfitt from the EQAVET  Secretariat outlined some of the activities the organisation carries out, and the resources it makes available. The message from both speakers was: choose what works for you, and don’t do what doesn’t work.

Day two of the seminar looked more closely at the role of teachers and trainers in VET QA, and invited delegates to cooperate in working sessions and plenary discussions.

Participating countries were: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Kosovo*, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey.


* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence- in the rest of the website ‘Kosovo'.

Forgot your username or password?